COLCHESTER United will kick-off the new League Two season with a home game against Port Vale, on the opening day.

John McGreal's side will begin the 2019-20 campaign against the Valiants at the JobServe Community Stadium on Saturday, August 3.

It is the first time that the U's have started the season with a home game since drawing 2-2 with Blackpool on the opening day of the 2015-16 campaign.

The U's also started their 2017-18 home campaign against Port Vale, winning 2-0.

Colchester will follow up their game against Port Vale with a long trip to play Plymouth Argyle the following Saturday (August 10), before games against Cambridge United (home, August 17), Grimsby Town (away, August 20), Northampton Town (home, August 24) and Oldham Athletic (away, August 31) complete the opening month.

The U's will travel to play Leyton Orient on Boxing Day and will then have home games against Exeter City (December 29) and Crawley Town (New Year's Day) to complete the festive period.

Colchester finish the season with a home game against Forest Green Rovers, on April 25.

Colchester will also discover who they will play in the first round of the Carabao Cup tonight, with the draw taking place at 7pm.

The U's will be ball number nine in the draw.

Fans will be able to watch the draw live in store and also tune in to the Carabao Cup Facebook and Twitter pages, with live text updates across EFL Channels and



3 Port Vale (H)

10 Plymouth Argyle (A)

17 Cambridge United (H)

20 Grimsby Town (A)

24 Northampton Town (H)

31 Oldham Athletic (A)


7 Walsall (H)

14 Forest Green Rovers (A)

17 Swindon Town (A)

21 Leyton Orient (H)

28 Macclesfield Town (A)


5 Stevenage (H)

12 Crawley Town (A)

19 Morecambe (H)

22 Crewe Alexandra (A)

26 Newport County (H)


2 Mansfield Town (A)

16 Bradford City (H)

23 Cheltenham Town (A)


7 Salford City (H)

14 Scunthorpe United (A)

21 Carlisle United (H)

26 Leyton Orient (A)

29 Exeter City (H)


1 Crawley Town (H)

4 Stevenage (A)

11 Morecambe (A)

18 Macclesfield Town (H)

25 Exeter City (A)

28 Swindon Town (H)


1 Cambridge United (A)

8 Plymouth Argyle (H)

11 Grimsby Town (H)

15 Port Vale (A)

22 Salford City (A)

29 Cheltenham Town (H)


7 Carlisle United (A)

14 Scunthorpe United (H)

17 Crewe Alexandra (H)

21 Newport County (A)

28 Mansfield Town (H)


4 Bradford City (A)

10 Northampton Town (A)

13 Oldham Athletic (H)

18 Walsall (A)

25 Forest Green Rovers (H)