THE efforts of Colchester Harriers' juniors were rewarded when they held their annual awards night, at Stanway Rovers.

More than 80 of the Green Vests' youngsters enjoyed the evening, where their achievements were acknowledged.

Graig Anya Joseph was crowned Male Junior Athlete of the Year.

He is ranked number one in the UK over 100 metres, having made the step up from top under-13 to leading under-15.

He has an AT ranking of sixth for his age and is also ranked 182nd male athlete in the country.

Joseph, whose 2017 achievements were truly astonishing, also won the Boys Speed Award.

Harriers' Female Junior Athlete of the Year was Olivia Simon, one of the most dedicated and humblest of athletes in the club.

She is ranked third in the UK for her pole vault, with an AT ranking of 11th.

She also claimed a UK top ten ranking in her first-ever hammer event and now holds club records in both disciplines.

Simon, who also competes in hurdles, shot putt and other sprints to earn points for Harriers, also bagged the Girls Field Award.

Under-15 athlete Eliza Betts was given the Most Improved Junior Athlete award, after claiming a clutch of county championship medals in sprint and field events.

She also earned a county vest and competed at the Intercounties meet, along with securing new long jump, 100m and 200m bests.

Ziggy Lambton was nominated for Most Improved Junior Athlete.

Under-17 athlete Katie Rice won the Girl Speed Award, after gaining a place in the Intermediate Girls 80m hurdles final at the Essex County Schools Championships.

Under-13 athlete Zion Ateba was awarded an achievement certificate for Speed, while Callum McKay and Henry Lawes were both nominated for the Boys Speed Award.

Harriers' Boys' Field Award winner was Finn O’Reilly who excelled in the 700m javelin, in which he represented Suffolk Schools at the English Schools Championships, winning bronze with a new PB of 60.68m and a club record.

Under-13 athlete Georgina Smith was Field Girl Award nominee.

Milly Presland was a deserving winner of the Girl Distance award, having had a very successful winter Cross Country season.

This year’s Boy Distance winner was under-15 athlete Max Caulfield, who finished off last year with a call-up to the Essex inter-counties team.

Joseph Boden gained an Achievement Certificate for his great attitude to training.

T/F53 athlete Darcey Monaghan won the Special Commendation Award.

She won a trio of individual gold medals at the Typhoo National Junior Athletics Championships, organised by the English Federation of Disability Sport (EFDS).

Team Manager Awards presented by Sarah Collins and Jo Upton went to under-17 athlete Hollie Spellar and under-13 athlete, Charlie Parmenter.

The awards recognise the valuable contribution Junior athletes make to the team, at Eastern Young Athletes League events.

The Run Jump and Throw Awards for athletes in the under-13 and under-15 categories went to Ateba (under-13) and Joseph (under-15).

Team medals (for athletes who had competed in four or five of the EYAL meets), under-13 Girls: X5 Grace Gardinder, Olivia Simon; X4 Zion Ateba, Alexandra Bell Cobbol, Rebecca Collins, Lily Upton, Chloe Goddard, Lois Gore; under-15 x 5 Aliya Soames, Milly Presland, Isabella Minder.

Under-15 x 4: Eliza Betts, Madeline Clayden, Jessicai Elmer, Eleanor Hopgood, Hannah Rodgers.

Under-17 x 5: Savanna Harrison, Hollie Speller, Katie Rice, Megan Stevens, Lauren Strutt.

Boys: 5 events: Theo Gardiner (under-13) and Charlie Parmenter (under-13); 4 events: Graig Anya-Joseph (under-15) and Ziggy Lambton (under-15); 4 events: Archie French (under-17) and Callum McKay (under-17).