BATTLE lines have been drawn as the parties across Colchester declared their runners and riders for the elections on May 2.

In three out of every four years, there is a borough council election in Colchester.

At the moment, Colchester Council is run by a coalition of the Liberal Democrats, Labour and the Highwoods Independents.

The Conservative Party is the largest single group with 25 seats but is just one seat short of an overall majority, meaning it is the only party in opposition at the moment.

There are 17 seats which will be battled over in the forthcoming election and all incumbent councillors are standing again.

Here is the full list of all the candidates standing for each ward.

* Denotes sitting councillor

Berechurch ward

Mary Bryan - Green

Fabian Green - Cons

Chris Pearson - Lab*

Mick Spindler - Lib Dem

Castle ward

Mark Goacher - Green

Darius Laws - Cons*

Victoria Weaver - Lab

Verity Woolley - Lib Dem

Greenstead ward

John Clifton - Green

Christopher Lee - Independent

Christopher Piggott - Cons

Chantelle-Louise Whyborn - Lib Dem

Tim Young - Lab*

Highwoods ward

Jocelyn Law - Lab

Bev Oxford - Independent*

Stephen Rowe - Cons

Robbie Spence - Green

Mick Turrell - Lib Dem

Lexden & Braiswick ward

Roger Bamforth - Green

Lewis Barber - Cons*

Thomas Stevenson - Lib Dem

Conrad Winch - Lab

Marks Tey & Layer ward

Andrew Ellis - Cons*

Mark Hull - Lib Dem

Jan Plummer - Lab

Matt Stemp - Green

Mersea & Pyefleet ward

John Akker - Independent

Peter Banks - Green

David Broise - Ukip

Bry Mogridge - Lab

Patricia Moore - Cons*

Carl Powling - Independent

Jenny Stevens - Lib Dem

Mile End ward

Phil Coleman - Lib Dem*

Amanda Kirke - Green

Natalie Rowe - Cons

Sarah Ryder - Lab

New Town & Christ Church ward

Bob Brannan - Green

Nick Cope - Lib Dem*

Carla Hales - Cons

Elisa Vasquez-Walters - Lab

Old Heath & The Hythe ward

Andrew Canessa - Green

Adam Fox - Lab*

Mark Kiley - Lib Dem

Michael Mcdonnell - Cons

Prettygate ward

Beverly Davies - Cons*

John Loxley - Lib Dem

Jamie Overland - Lab

Clare Palmer - Green

Rural North ward

Sue Bailey - Green

Will Brown - Lib Dem

Nigel Chapman - Cons*

Judith Short - Lab

Shrub End ward

Vic Flores - Cons*

Sam McCarthy - Lib Dem

Blake Roberts - Green

Rosalind Scott - Lab

St Anne's & St John's ward

Helen Chuah - Lib Dem*

Megan Maltby - Green

HK Norman - Lab

Thomas Rowe - Cons

Stanway ward

Katie Francis - Green

Jeremy Hagon - Cons

Lesley Scott-Boutell -Lib Dem*

John Spademan - Lab

Tiptree ward

Wolfgang Fauser - Green

Gemma Graham - Lib Dem

Paul Jeffs - Lab

Barbara Wood - Cons*

Wivenhoe ward

Jodie Clark - Cons

Mark Cory - Lib Dem*

John McArthur - Green

Harry Nathan - Lab