The next elections for Colchester Council are set to be held on May 2.

The borough is represented by 51 ward councillors, with three councillors representing each ward.

At present the council is made up of 25 Conservative councillors, 12 Liberal Democrats, 11 Labour councillors and three The Highwoods Group members.

Due to the election system in operation elections to Colchester Council are held three out of every four years.

This means an election will be held for one of the ward seats in all 17 wards on the council.

There are also elections in 18 parishes where the entire membership of the parish council has reached the end of their four year terms of office.

The parish councillors must either step down or seek re-election for a further term. Elections will take place for the following parish councils:

  • Aldham
  • Great Horkesley
  • Tiptree
  • Boxted
  • Great Tey
  • Wakes Colne
  • Chappel
  • Little Horkesley
  • West Bergholt
  • Copford with Easthorpe
  • Mount Bures
  • West Mersea
  • Eight Ash Green
  • Myland
  • Wivenhoe
  • Fordham
  • Stanway
  • Wormingford

What happens before the election?

A notice of election is set to be published on March 22.

The deadline for submission of nomination papers will be 4pm on Wednesday, April 3.

The last date for registering to vote at the election will be Friday, April 12 and the last date for applying to vote by post is 5pm on Monday, April 15.

Postal votes will then be sent out from Thursday, April 18.

The last date for applying to vote by proxy is 5pm on Wednesday April 24.

The last day for candidates to appoint polling and count agents is Thursday, April 25.

Polling day will be on Thursday, May 2 from 7am to 10pm.